Susie Not So Homemaker

cleaningblog

 

So we just built this incredibly beautiful new home and it is pretty big. I am not saying this to brag, but in comparison to what we just moved out of, this house is like a mansion to me. Now that we are almost settled in and it’s been one full month of us living in what is now called home, I have quickly realized my old cleaning schedule is not going to work here. Since you will see me mention this A LOT that I am a mama to 5 cubs and I am a stay at home mama; I want to throw out one little tidbit about me. I am lazy when it comes to domesticated shxt. I hate laundry, I hate cleaning, I hate doing the dishes…domestic chores period I hate doing them.

For some cleaning their home is therapeutic. For this lady, cleaning my home is a pain in the ass. I have learned that with more space comes more cleaning. More places to put shxt and clutter accumulates fast. So if you are like me, you hate “house day” and try to avoid it by all means…Until you have company coming over.

IDK about you, but I know I do some seriously amazing cleaning right before company comes over. Depending on who it is, depends on how much I clean. Now some of my buddies know I have kids and expect shxt to be all over the place. Others wonder how do I keep such a tidy house with a house full of Gremlins? Now everyone’s idea of what is clean varies so my tidbits are more so one size fits all to get the point across. Before I became a wife I was a shove it somewhere if it fits and be done kinda cleaner. However, meeting my husband and actually moving in and living together changed my cleaning habits. You never know someone until you live with them and we both had different perceptions of what clean is. For example, I will leave papers from school everywhere. Post it notes, hoodies, shoes etc you name it. To my husband that is considered clutter and unclean. For me I see it as okay, I don’t feel like putting it back, or I was going to put it back but got distracted. For me, I can’t stand food to be left out, dishes in the sink, and dusty furniture. To me that is unclean.

Since I have been a stay at home mom, I have had to alter my cleaning schedule several times. This has been in part to moving, being pregnant all the damn time, being in school, working on my custom cakes orders, and well life in general (I am lazy). I have sort of developed some habits that help me keep a tidy home despite having a football team running around all day. Contrary to the popular belief, you can have a clean home even with children in the house. It is a little annoying since I have a big family, some people assume my house stays a mess. At times, yes it does look like a tornado hit the inside and I don’t care.

clean-571679_960_720

My turning point with this domestic stuff came with purchasing this home. Since we are paying good money for this joint, we need to take care of it and have pride in it. It’s too pretty to have it left in shambles. A few of my friends and readers have inquired about how I keep things running smoothly in the cleaning department so I decided to write this blog to share some of the things I do to help keep the house clean with a large family.

 

Things I do that help keep the house tidy and prevent me from having to deep clean

  1. Minimize things: There seems to be a new fad with living a minimalist lifestyle. You go with the bare necessities and nothing extra. Well this mama likes to shop so that kind of lifestyle doesn’t really work for me in some aspects. I tried it with clothes and shoes and that was an epic fail lol. However, it does work when it comes to furnishings. We have plenty of furniture but each room is not completely wall to wall furniture. Sometimes less is more. I bake a lot, so I had minimized my cake supplies. I had 4 or 5 different sets of measuring cups and spoons, so I downsized to only 2 sets now.
  2. Multipurpose cleaners: These will be your friend and save you a lot of money. Keep certain cleaning supplies in the areas where they are most often used. Since we have multiple bathrooms, I stocked the cabinets with the cleaning supplies I use for cleaning the toilet, mirrors etc. As always be sure to lock up your poisons so that the little ones don’t get into them.
  3. Baby wipes: Baby wipes are a multi-purpose commodity around these parts. I use them to quickly wipe off counters, high chairs etc.
  4. Shoe racks by the door: I have a large shoe rack by the front door and one also located in the mudroom. This keeps you from tracking dirt throughout the house
  5. You mess it up, you clean it up: Whoever made the mess cleans it simple as that.
  6. Clean as you go: While cooking or baking, I clean as I prepare the food. Immediately after I clean the stove and counter space surrounding it.
  7. Put dishes up first thing in the morning, load the dishwasher throughout the day, run it at the end of the night: Keeps dishes from piling up in the sink and keeps them from being forgotten.
  8. Pick two to three days out of the week to vacuum, dust, and sweep
  9. Laundry day system is located here Laundry Sucks
  10. Speed clean every day: Set a timer for 10 mins and clean as much as you can. Each day pick a different room or area to focus on.
  11. Put on music while you clean: It makes you more productive and makes you want to keep up and get moving.
  12. Daily shower cleaner spray: This is the best invention ever! After you get out of the shower spray this stuff, and walk away and BAM! It’s like the shower cleans itself.
  13. Press-N-Seal plastic wrap: Use this in the fridge to line the shelves. Makes clean-up a breeze. Replace as needed.
  14. Socks for cleaning the baseboards: You know those cheap fuzzy super soft socks in the dollar section at Target during the holidays? The ones that kind of feel like a microfiber cloth? Those make great baseboard cleaners! Slip on a pair and rub your feet along the baseboard to quickly dust.
  15. Disinfect toys in the dishwasher: Your dishwasher is one of the most time saving inventions ever. Toys that can go in the dishwasher without being damaged or easily filled with water can be effectively disinfected by running them through the dishwasher instead of hand wiping them off. Speaking of disinfecting toys, spraying them with Lysol works as well to kill surface bacteria and viruses, however, if you have little ones that put things in their mouth this can be unpleasant and expose them to chemicals.

Another thing I do that seemed to work is having a cleaning schedule that was not overwhelming. If it is simple, you will be more inclined to stick with it.

Here is an example of my previous “deep” cleaning schedule:

  • Monday-Kitchen and Do 1 or 2 loads of laundry start to finish
  • Tuesday-Foyer and Living Room
  • Wednesday-Bathrooms and bedrooms
  • Thursday-Hallway and baseboards
  • Friday-Bedrooms and Do 1 or 2 loads of laundry start to finish
  • Saturday-off day or clean as needed
  • Sunday-Kitchen and bathrooms, Do 1 or 2 loads of laundry start to finish and prepare clothes for the week

If all else fails, watch an episode of Hoarders. When I lack motivation to clean, I just cut on an episode of Hoarders and I guarantee you will clean your house after that.

gen

Now that I have shared with you some of my cleaning tidbits, I would love to hear from you! What are some of your cleaning hacks that save you time and keep your home tidy?

7 thoughts on “Susie Not So Homemaker

  1. _sparklesandsippycups says:

    I have a hard time keeping a schedule for cleaning my home. I do laundry every single day and I’m sort of like you, I love to make sure my kitchen is clean every single night. It’s tough keeping a house clean with children. We have been teaching our son to clean up after himself.

    Great post, I love that you base your cleaning off by who might be coming over. Usually when people come over to my home I clean like a mad woman lol.

    Like

    • The Savage Mom Theory says:

      I totally forgot I scheduled this post lol!! Yes it helps me not to overdo it. For example if friends are bringing their kids I do the minimum because it’s just going to get destroyed again!

      Like

  2. Jane says:

    Oh honey, I think this post was meant for me. I am the laziest housekeeper. My husband and I constantly but heads over it. I’m definitely going to implement these things.

    Like

  3. nicoleday90 says:

    As soon as I read the titile i knew I was going to love the post .. this is me 😂😂 Im new to beong a SAGM smd struggling to find my jive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

